Epic Tales from the Tour de France

Epic Tales from the Tour de France

EPIC: adjective - something that refers to a heroic story or something that is heroic or grand.

Epic is not a word that is used lightly. In the context of the Tour de France and its 100-year history, epic moments are to be revered. I acknowledge that this may sound emotive, but as an Australian, and proud owner of an Aussie brand, epic takes on a whole new dynamic when focusing on Aussie moments that have shaped the Tour de France.

With the expertise of accomplished journalist and voice of Australian cycling, Mike Tomalaris, we are proud to share with you Tales of Le Tour and what he believes to be the most memorable of the bunch.


In November 2014, Cycling Australia announced its Tour de France Team of the Century to recognize Australia's first participation in the Tour. The team comprised nine riders: Cadel Evans and Phil Anderson (general classification), Richie Porte and Michael Rogers (domestiques), Robbie McEwan (sprinter), Bradley McGee and Mark Renshaw (sprint lead out riders), Simon Gerrans (all rounder) and Hubert Opperman (team captain).



Statistics of Australian cyclists at the Tour de France (as at end of 2019).

  • 60 Australian cyclists have ridden in the Tour from 1914 to 2019.
  • Stuart O'Grady has ridden 17 Tours, followed by Phil Anderson with 13 tours
  • Cadel Evans is the only Australian cyclist to win the Tour de France – 2011
  • Phil Anderson was the first Australian stage winner and yellow jersey holder.
  • 7 Australian cyclists have worn the yellow jersey – Phil Anderson, Bradley McGee, Stuart O'Grady, Robbie McEwan, Cadel Evans, Simon Gerrans and Rohan Dennis
  • 3 Australian cyclists have won the green jersey – Robbie McEwan, Baden Cooke and Michael Matthews
  • 6 Australian cyclists have held the green jersey – Stuart O'Grady, Robbie McEwan, Bradley McGee, Baden Cooke, Rohan Dennis and Michael Matthews
  • No Australian cyclist has won the polka dot jersey
  • Only 1 Australian cyclist has held the polka dot jersey – Cadel Evans
  • Only 1 Australian cyclist has won the white jersey – Phil Anderson
  • Two Australian cyclists have held the white jersey – Phil Anderson and Rohan Dennis
  • There have been 33 individual stage wins by 13 Australian cyclists (includes dual nationals) – Robbie McEwan – 12, Michael Matthews – 3, Caleb Ewan – 3, Stuart O'Grady – 2, Bradley McGee – 2, Phil Anderson – 2, Simon Gerrans – 2, Cadel Evans – 2, Michael Rogers – 1, Neil Stephens – 1, Rohan Dennis – 1, Baden Cooke – 1, Heinrich Haussler – 1


Mike Tomalaris, accomplished journalist, television reporter, presenter, sports commentator and host of numerous SBS Television's programs including the Tour de France and other elite cycling events around the world.
Mike has been the face of the TDF with SBS since 1996.


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.